What To Do If You're Arrested for Battery in Wisconsin
Arrested for Battery in Wisconsin? Madison Attorneys can help.If you intentionally cause someone bodily harm without their consent, you have committed battery. This is a crime that carries potentially significant consequences. How severe those consequences are depends on the circumstances of the battery and against whom you commit it. Causing greater levels of injury or committing crimes against certain people can increase the charges and the penalties you face. How Much Harm? Battery is a crime that requires both intent and actual harm before you can be charged. The statute divides the charges for battery among levels of harm you cause to a person, and the amount of harm you intend to cause. Causing harm subjects you to a charge of a Class A misdemeanor. But this can increase all the way up to a Class H felony if you cause “great bodily harm” with the intent to cause harm, or a Class E felony if you actually intended to cause great bodily harm. Penalties for Battery Charges These distinctions make a huge difference in how you are charged. If you are arrested for felony battery, you will probably go to jail until your initial appearance before the court. You may receive a 72-hour no contact order as well, prohibiting you from having any contact with the person you are accused of battering. If you are convicted, you face the following penalties:
- Class A misdemeanor for simple battery: up to nine months in jail and/or up to $10,000 fine;
- Class I felony: up to three and a half years in prison and/or up to $10,000 fine;
- Class H felony: up to six years in prison and/or up to $10,000 fine;
- Class E felony: up to fifteen years in prison and/or up to $50,000 fine.