The Guide to Battery Charges and Penalties in Wisconsin
Battery Charges in Wisconsin explained by Criminal Defense AttorneyAny time you intentionally harm another person in Wisconsin, you are subject to battery charges. What penalties you face, though, vary depending on how much harm you intended, whom you harm, and how much harm you actually cause. If you are arrested for battery charges, you need a good criminal defense attorney to help you protect yourself. Harm and Intent Wisconsin classifies its battery charges under Wisconsin Statutes 940.19, as follows:
- Class A misdemeanor for causing any harm while intending to cause bodily harm;
- Class I felony for causing substantial bodily harm with intent to cause bodily harm;
- Class H felony for causing great bodily harm with intent to cause bodily harm;
- Class E felony for causing great bodily harm with intent to cause great bodily harm; and
- Class H felony for causing bodily harm through conduct that creates a substantial risk of great bodily harm.
- Class A misdemeanor: fine up to $10,000, and/or jail for up to 9 months;
- Class I felony:fine of up to $10,000, and prison up to 3 years and 6 months;
- Class H felony: fine up to $10,000, and prison up to 6 years;
- Class E felony: fine up to $50,000, and prison up to 15 years.