Penalties For Driving With Suspended License in Wisconsin
Expect Hefty Fines and Penalties When Driving On a Suspended License
Driving on a suspended license may seem like no big deal, but it’s illegal in Wisconsin. Drivers who continue to break the law in this manner could be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the circumstances of their arrest. They also face a wide range of penalties, including loss of property and heavy fines.
Has Your License Been Suspended or Revoked?
A license that has been suspended is different from a license that has been revoked. A suspension is only a temporary loss of your driving privileges. A license revocation is more serious as it is the permanent loss of your driver’s license.
It is often possible to reinstate your driving privileges after a suspension or revocation. You will need to check with the Wisconsin Division of Motor Vehicles to find out if you are eligible and what kind of information you will need to provide to have your license reinstated. At a minimum, you can expect to have to provide:
- Proof of insurance
- Payment for a reinstatement fee
- Your Wisconsin driver’s license or ID card number
- Basic personal information such as date of birth, the last four digits of your SSN
When Can A License Be Suspended?
Drivers may have their license suspended for many different reasons. Some of the most common reasons for a suspension are:
- Numerous and repeated traffic violations.
- Driving without insurance.
- Habitual reckless or negligent driving.
- Receiving 12 or more demerit points on your license within a 12-month period.
- Receiving OWIs or other alcohol-related offenses.
- Failure to comply with testing for prohibited alcohol concentration (PAC).
Fines and Charges
If you are caught driving on a suspended license in Wisconsin, you can expect to be fined. Fines start at $50 and increase from there to as much as $2,500, depending on the circumstances. Sometimes, drivers face additional charges and even criminal charges. One example of this is if they are driving with a suspended license and get pulled over for an OWI. Driving with a revoked license is always a criminal charge. Criminal charges result in higher fines and carry more severe penalties, including jail time.
If you damage property or injure someone while driving with a suspended or revoked license in Wisconsin, you may lose your car in addition to paying fines and penalties and could face misdemeanor or felony charges. If you were aware of your license suspension or revocation before the accident or injury, you will be dealt with even more severely. You may be charged with a Class I or Class H felony. Both of these charges carry extremely high penalties, such as a $10,000 fine and as much as 6 years in jail.
If You Have Been Caught Driving With A Suspended License In Wisconsin, Contact Eisenberg Law
If you depend on your ability to drive to get to and from work or school, driving on a suspended license is risky. If you get caught, you could lose your license, lose your car, and face heavy fines and penalties. Do not leave anything to chance. Contact the attorneys at Eisenberg Law Offices for help getting your suspension cleared so you can drive legally. If you have been caught driving on a suspended license, contact us for help understanding the case against you and your legal options.
We offer free consultations and work with clients throughout Wisconsin. Call Eisenberg Law Offices at 608-256-8356 or email us at firstname.lastname@example.org to arrange your free and confidential consultation.
RECENT CASE RESULTS
Eisenberg Law has successfully represented our clients in thousands of Personal Injury, Criminal Defense and Family Law Cases during our 30-plus years in business.
RECENT BLOG POSTS
- 6 Facts About Wisconsin Personal Injury Law | Eisenberg Law
- Example Of Unlawful OWI Stops In Wisconsin
- Wisconsin Car Crash Statute of Limitations Is Three Years
- Ignition Interlock Device | OWI in Wisconsin
- Q And A With A Wisconsin Car Accident Lawyer
- Getting A Second Option For Car Accident Injuries