Disorderly Conduct Attorney Answers Common Questions
Have Questions About Disorderly Conduct In Wisconsin? A Disorderly Conduct Attorney Answers Them
Disorderly conduct is a very broad charge in Wisconsin. The scope of the statute is likely the reason why it ranks as one of the most often charged crimes in the state. Wisconsin State Statute 947.01 defines disorderly conduct as:
“Whoever, in a public or private place, engages in violent, abusive, indecent, profane, boisterous, unreasonably loud or otherwise disorderly conduct under circumstances in which the conduct tends to cause or provoke a disturbance is guilty of a Class B misdemeanor.”
Under that definition, acting in any way that causes a disturbance can lead to a charge of disorderly conduct. A disorderly conduct attorney might defend their client against charges stemming from domestic situations to arguments and disagreements between strangers.
This Class B misdemeanor carries a maximum penalty of 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. It’s a serious enough charge that you want to fight the allegations and keep your name clear, which is exactly what a skilled attorney can help you achieve.
Common Questions About Disorderly Conduct in Wisconsin
- Can I Be Charged Even If I Didn’t Disturb Anyone?
This is a very common question when people are facing disorderly conduct charges. The short answer is, yes, you can be charged with disorderly conduct even if no one was disturbed or complained about your behavior. The statute does not specify that another person must be disturbed by the conduct, only that the behavior must have occurred.
- Can I Be Charged With Disorderly Conduct Based On Speech Alone?
Disorderly conduct as it relates to freedom of speech protections is a tricky legal area, but in general, yes, speech can be considered disorderly if it serves no purpose other than causing a disturbance.
- What Happens If I Am Arrested For Disorderly Conduct?
What happens upon your arrest depends on the circumstances surrounding it. If the dispute involved a domestic situation, then you will probably be taken to jail. If you are charged with Misdemeanor Disorderly Conduct, you may be able to post bond and be released that day. If you are charged with a felony and/or can’t post bond then you will remain in jail until you are brought before a judge.
- I’ve Received A Citation That Reads “Wisconsin Uniform Misdemeanor Citation”. What Does That Mean?
This citation means you have been charged with a misdemeanor crime. You will need to appear in court on the date specified or a warrant will be issued for your arrest.
- Can I Be Charged With Disorderly Conduct If I Am Simply Carrying A Gun?
No. Simply carrying a gun (loaded or unloaded) cannot lead to a charge of disorderly conduct by itself. For a disorderly conduct charge to be applied, you must also be exhibiting disturbing behaviors and/or disturbing others with your words or actions.
Get Answers To Your Questions By Meeting With A Disorderly Conduct Attorney At Eisenberg Law Offices
There are many more questions that can arise when faced with a disorderly conduct charge, making every case unique. Meeting with a disorderly conduct attorney is the best way to make sense of your situation and determine the next step.
Contact the criminal defense attorneys at Eisenberg Law Offices
in Madison for help fighting disorderly conduct charges. We offer free consultations and have a long track record of success defending against disorderly conduct charges in Wisconsin.
Please call 608-256-8356 or email Info@EisenbergLaw.org
to schedule your consultation.]]>